NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



WASHINGTON, D.C. (Dec. 21, 2011) — The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) named 28 consumer liaison representatives for 2012. The 18 funded and 10 unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2012. Fifteen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2011, while three are new to the NAIC program.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with NAIC members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals‘ dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

“The consumer liaison program continues to be an integral part of our consumer protection initiatives,” said Kevin M. McCarty, NAIC President-Elect and Florida Insurance Commissioner. “The representatives provide valuable perspectives and expertise that help improve the insurance regulatory system for all consumers.”

The following are the 2012 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives:

Elizabeth Abbott: Project Director, Health Access

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Deeia Beck: Public Counsel, Office of Public Insurance Counsel/Texas

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Sabrina Corlette: Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Joseph P. Ditre': Executive Director, Consumers for Affordable Health Care

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio*

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate, Avon, CT

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Jennifer Mishory: Deputy Director, Young Invincibles*

Andrea J. Routh: Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance*

Daniel Schwarcz: Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Barbara Yondorf: President: Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

* New NAIC funded consumer representative in 2012  

In addition, there are 10 unfunded consumer representatives (5 returning from 2011 and 5 new as noted with an asterisk):

Birny Birnbaum: Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice*

Stephen Finan: Senior Director of Policy, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Carrie Fitzgerald: Senior Policy Advisor for Health, First Focus*

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Consumer Advocate, Project Healthcare*

Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center*

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union

Stuart Spielman: Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel, Autism Speaks

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future*

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit

You are currently subscribed to the “NAIC News Release” electronic service. For information regarding this service, please contact the NAIC Communications Division, 1100 Walnut Street, Kansas City, MO 64106-2197, 816-783-8909.

To unsubscribe from NAIC Electronic Services, send a blank e-mail to
NAIC Opt Out services.


Communications Division
(816) 783-8909

Scott Holeman

Jeremy Wilkinson
Sr. Electronic Communications

Miun Gleeson
Sr. Communications

Vanessa Sink

Erin Johnson
Communications Specialist

Visit the NEWSROOM to search news releases and for more media information

Join Our E-mail List
Receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division!


NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.