Committees & Activities

Reinsurance Task Force
Financial Condition (E) Committee

The mission of the Reinsurance (E) Task Force is to monitor and coordinate activities and areas of interest, which overlap to some extent the charges of other working groups, specifically the International Insurance Relations (G) Committee.

2015 Charges

The Reinsurance (E) Task Force will:

  • Provide a forum for the consideration of reinsurance-related issues of public policy.—Essential
  • Oversee the activities of the Reinsurance Financial Analysis (E) Working Group.—Essential
  • Oversee the activities of the Qualified Jurisdiction (E) Working Group.—Essential
  • Monitor the implementation of the revised Credit for Reinsurance Model Law (#785) and the Credit for Reinsurance Model Regulation (#786) by NAIC-member jurisdictions.—Essential
  • Communicate and coordinate with the Federal Insurance Office and other federal authorities on matters pertaining to reinsurance.—Essential
  • Consider recommendations referred to the Task Force with respect to the Captives and Special Purpose Vehicles (SPV) white paper.—Essential
  • Consider the referral from the Valuation of Securities (E) Task Force regarding the planned modification of credit rating standards in the NAIC Bank List and advice about the definition of “qualified U.S. financial institution” and other issues.—Essential
  • Consider any other issues related to the revised Model #785 and Model #786.—Important
  • Monitor the development of international principles, standards and guidance with respect to reinsurance. This includes, but is not limited to, monitoring the activities of various groups within the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS), including the Reinsurance and Other Forms of Risk Transfer Subcommittee, Reinsurance Mutual Recognition Subgroup and Reinsurance Transparency Group.—Important
  • Consider the impact of reinsurance-related federal legislation, including, but not limited to, the federal Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act and the Federal Insurance Office Act, and coordinate any appropriate NAIC action.—Important
  • Consider referrals wit h respect to the XXX/AXXX Reinsurance Framework.—Essential

The following Working Groups report to the Reinsurance Task Force:


Conference Call Calendar

NAIC conference calls & interim meetings are available on the NAIC Conference Call Calendar. See NAIC's revised policy statement on open meetings.

2015 Fall National Meeting
Reinsurance (E) Task Force
Friday, Nov. 20, 2015
3:30 - 5:00 p.m. ET
National Harbor, MD
Gaylord National Hotel and
Convention Center
Potomac C-D, Level 2

Conference Call
Wednesday, Dec. 9, 2015
1:00 p.m. Eastern / 12:00 Noon Central / 11:00 a.m. Mountain / 10:00 a.m. Pacific / 9:00 a.m. Alaska / 8:00 a.m. Hawaii
Call duration: 2 hours

  • Materials not yet available
Go to the exposure draft index.

Exposures with Comment Deadline of 12/6/2015

Exposure with Comment Deadline of 11/11/2015

Exposures with Comment Deadline of 9/30/2015

Please address comment letters to the Honorable John M. Huff, Chair of the Reinsurance (E) Task Force, and direct to and
Go to the exposure draft index.

NAIC List of Qualified Jurisdictions (1.1.15)

Summary of Findings and Determination Reports:

education & training events

There are no education or training events at this time.

documents and resources

Draft of Uniform Application Checklist for Certified Reinsurers approved by Financial Condition (E) Committee 12/12/14.

July 10, 2014 Research Memorandum from staff of the NAIC Investment Analysis Office regarding interpretation of the phrase “Securities Listed by the Securities Valuation Office”

Reinsurance Collateral Amount Survey

Process for Developing and Maintaining the NAIC List of Qualified Jurisdictions as adopted by NAIC August 17, 2014

Instructions for Form CR-F and CR-S, as adopted by the Reinsurance Task Force August 13, 2012.

On November 6, 2011, the NAIC Executive (EX) Committee and Plenary adopted the revised Credit for Reinsurance Models, with additional amendments adopted during the meeting.

Reinsurance Regulatory Modernization Framework Proposal Memorandum - The Sep. 12, 2008 proposal was adopted by the NAIC during the Winter 2008 National Meeting.
Finite Reinsurance
Related NAIC Publications
Captives and Special Purpose Vehicles White Paper

Model Laws, Regulations and Guidelines

US Reinsurance Collateral White Paper

Media queries should be directed to the NAIC Communications Division at 816-783-8909 or

Dan Schelp
Managing Attorney
Phone: 816.783.8027

Josh Arpin
Statutory Accounting and Reinsurance Policy Advisor
Phone: 816.783.8481
Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.