Committees & Activities

Cybersecurity (EX) Task Force
Executive (EX) Committee

2016 Charges

The mission of the Cybersecurity (EX) Task Force is to consider issues concerning cybersecurity as they pertain to the role of state insurance regulators.

Ongoing Support of NAIC Programs, Products or Services

  1. The Cybersecurity (EX) Task Force will:
    1. Monitor developments in the area of cybersecurity.

    2. Advise, report and make recommendations to the Executive (EX) Committee on cybersecurity issues.

    3. Coordinate activities with NAIC standing committees and their task forces and working groups regarding cybersecurity issues.

    4. Review the NAIC Insurance and Privacy Protection Model Act (#670); the Privacy of Consumer Financial and Health Information Regulation (#672); the Standards for Safeguarding Consumer Information Model Regulation (#673); and the Insurance Fraud Prevention Model Act (#680) and make recommendations to the Executive (EX) Committee.

    5. Represent the NAIC and communicate with other entities/groups, including the sharing of information as may be appropriate, on cybersecurity issues.

    6. Perform such other tasks as may be assigned by the Executive (EX) Committee relating to the area of cybersecurity.
Conference Call Calendar

NAIC conference calls & interim meetings are available on the NAIC Conference Call Calendar. See NAIC's revised policy statement on open meetings.

2016 Summer National Meeting
San Diego, California
Saturday, August 27, 2016
2:30 – 3:30 p.m.
Manchester Grand Hyatt—Harbor Ballroom—Harbor Tower—Second Level

There are no education and training events at this time.

Go to the exposure draft index.

Model Draft - redlined
Model Draft - clean
Please send comments to Sara Robben by close of business on September 16, 2016.

documents and resources

Draft Insurance Data Security Model Law


Roadmap for Cybersecurity Consumer Protections
Adopted December 17, 2015

Principles for Effective Cybersecurity: Insurance Regulatory Guidance
Adopted April 16, 2015

SPECIAL SECTION: Security Breach Response HQ

Related NAIC Publications

Draft meeting minutes are available free for meeting attendees 10 business days after a national meeting concludes, using the User ID and Password supplied by the NAIC. Regulators may access minutes via StateNet.
Final committee minutes and Proceedings of the NAIC are available to non–attendees, after adoption at the next national meeting, for free in the PDF format through the NAIC Products & Services website.

Media queries should be directed to the NAIC Communications Division at 816-783-8909 or

Eric C. Nordman
Director of Regulatory Services and CIPR
Phone: 816-783-8232
Fax: 816-460-7594

Anthony Cotto
Financial Policy & Legislative Counsel

Forrest R. Mohn
Director of Technical Services

Sara Robben
Statistical Advisor
Phone: (816) 783-8230
Fax: (816) 460-1767

Cody Steinwand
Manager I-Security

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.