News Release


NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



WASHINGTON, D.C. (Dec. 13, 2013) The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 30 consumer liaison representatives for 2014. The 20 funded and 10 unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2014. Seventeen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2013.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC's members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals' dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

"Our consumer liaison representatives serve a crucial role in our efforts to protect all consumers, which remain a top priority for state insurance regulators," said Adam Hamm, NAIC President-Elect and North Dakota Insurance Commissioner. "This important program informs the work of the NAIC and gives regulators a more complete picture of how our work impacts consumers in our states."

The following are the 2014 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives, with the three new representatives noted with an asterisk:

Elizabeth Abbott: Project Director, Health Access

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Birny Birnbaum: Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Andrea Callow: Policy Attorney, The Center for Medicare Advocacy*

Sabrina Corlette: Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Debra Judy: Policy Director, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative*

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate

Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Annalise Mannix: Fair Insurance Rates in Monroe*

Andrea Routh: Executive Director, Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance

Daniel Schwarcz: Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

In addition, the following are ten unfunded consumer representatives (seven returning from 2013 and three new, as noted with an asterisk):

Christine Barber: Senior Policy Analyst, Community Catalyst

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Project Healthcare, Consumer Advocates

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

Lincoln Nehring: Senior Health Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah Children

Jesse O'Brien: Oregon State Public Interest Research Group*

Christina Postolowski: Senior Policy Analyst, Young Invincibles*

Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union

Stuart Spielman: Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel, Autism Speaks

Alyssa Vangeli: Senior Health Policy Manager, Health Care for All*    

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit


Insure U Get Smart About Insurance



Communications Division


Scott Holeman

Communications Director


Jeremy Wilkinson

Sr. Electronic Communications



Miun Gleeson

Sr. Communications Specialist


Erin Yang

Media Strategist


Carly Erickson




Visit the NEWSROOM for media resources, archived releases and alerts


Join Our E-mail List to receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division.


    [ NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2013 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.