NAIC Names 2016 Consumer Liaison Representatives
Association also appoints immediate past president as consumer committee chair

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Jan. 13, 2016) — The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 35 consumer liaison representatives for 2016. The 20 funded and 15 unfunded consumer representatives began their terms Jan. 1, 2016. Seventeen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2015.

Established in 1992, the consumer liaison representative program promotes consumer protection through interaction with the NAIC's members, the insurance industry and interested parties. Representatives are chosen for their dedication to serving the public interest.

"We count on consumer representatives to bring unique perspectives and ideas to the table as regulators work to develop the best consumer protections possible," said John M. Huff, NAIC President and Missouri Insurance Director. "This liaison program provides invaluable dialogue that not only informs our work product, but also provides important insight into how our policies impact consumers in our states."

Huff and NAIC leadership named Immediate Past President Monica J. Lindeen as 2016 chair for the NAIC Consumer Liaison Committee. "Monica's commitment to consumer protection is unmatched," Huff said. "I have every confidence that her authority and advocacy will advance the work of this important team."

In 2013, Lindeen, who serves as Montana Insurance Commissioner, was recognized with the representatives' Excellence in Consumer Advocacy Award.

"I'm honored to accept a role that focuses on my number one passion: consumer protection," Lindeen said. "Ideas generated by this cross section of consumer representatives provide regulators with critical insight as we work to enhance consumer protections and promote stable and competitive insurance markets across the country."

Kansas Insurance Commissioner Ken Selzer will serve as co-chair of the committee.

The following are the 2016 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives, with the three new representatives noted with an asterisk:

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Birny Birnbaum: Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia Cooperative Extension Service

*India R. Hayes Larrier: Health Care Organizer, New Jersey Citizen Action

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Debra Judy: Policy Director, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Annalise Mannix: Fair Insurance Rates in Monroe

*Roy S. Mitchell: Executive Director, Mississippi Health Advocacy Program

Lincoln Nehring: Senior Health Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah Children

Jesse O'Brien: Oregon State Public Interest Research Group

*Pam Silberman: Professor of the Practice, NC Get Covered/Care Share Health Alliance

JoAnn Volk: Senior Research Fellow,GeorgetownUniversity Health Policy Institute, Center on Health Insurance Reforms   

Jackson Williams: Director of Government Affairs, Dialysis Patient Citizens

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

In addition, the following are the 2016 unfunded consumer representatives with the eight new representatives noted with an asterisk:

Elizabeth (Beth) Abbott: Director, State of California, Office of the Patient Advocate

*Bailey Acevedo: Health Counselor and Attorney, Community Service Society of New York

*Deborah Darcy: Director of Government Relations, American Kidney Fund

*Adrienne Ellis: Director of Healthcare Reform and Community Engagement, Mental Health Association of Maryland

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Project Healthcare, Consumer Advocates

Anna Howard: Principal, Policy Development, Access to and Quality of Care, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

*Elizabeth (Betsy) Imholz: Special Projects Director, Policy and Advocacy Division of Consumer Reports, Consumers Union

*Amy Killelea: Director, Health Systems Integration, National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors

Angelo Lello: Director Housing and Community Living, Autism Speaks

Claire McAndrew: Private Insurance Program Director, Families USA

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

*Cary Sennett: President and CEO, Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

*Andrew Sperling: Director of Legislative Advocacy, National Alliance on Mental Illness

*Silvia Yee: Senior Staff Attorney, Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit

Visit the NEWSROOM for media resources, archived releases and alerts   Join Our E-mail List to receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division
  RSS Feed You Tube LinkedIn Facebook Twitter  
NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]
©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.