News Release


NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



NAIC forms committee to address emerging issues related to cyber threats

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Dec. 15, 2014) -The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 30 consumer liaison representatives for 2015. The 20 funded and 10 unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2015. Eighteen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2014.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC's members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals' dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

"Our consumer liaison representatives play an integral part in helping the NAIC and regulators protect U.S. insurance consumers," said Monica J. Lindeen, NAIC President-Elect and Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance. "This partnership program is an important component of our mission to protect the public interest and facilitate the fair and equitable treatment of insurance consumers."

The following are the 2015 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives, with the two new representatives noted with an asterisk:

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Birny Birnbaum: Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Debra Judy: Policy Director, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate

Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Annalise Mannix: Fair Insurance Rates in Monroe

Lincoln Nehring: Senior Health Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah Children

Jesse O'Brien: Oregon State Public Interest Research Group

Andrea Routh: Executive Director, Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance

JoAnn Volk: Senior Research Fellow; Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center on Health Insurance Reforms*

Jackson Williams: Director of Government Affairs, Dialysis Patient Citizens*

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

In addition, the following are ten unfunded consumer representatives (seven returning from 2014 and three new, as noted with an asterisk):

Elizabeth Abbott: Director, State of California, Office of the Patient Advocate

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Project Healthcare, Consumer Advocates

Anna Howard: Principal, Policy Development, Access to and Quality of Care, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network*

Angelo Lello: Director Housing and Community Living, Autism Speaks*

Claire McAndrew: Private Insurance Program Director, Families USA*

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

Christina Postolowski: Senior Policy Analyst, Young Invincibles

Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union

Alyssa Vangeli: Senior Health Policy Manager, Health Care for All

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit


Insure U Get Smart About Insurance



Communications Division


Scott Holeman

Communications Director


Jeremy Wilkinson

Sr. Electronic Communications



Miun Gleeson

Sr. Communications Specialist


Erin Yang

Media Strategist


Katherine Jones

Communications Specialist



Visit the NEWSROOM for media resources, archived releases and alerts


Join Our E-mail List to receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division.


    [ NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.