Commissioner Kevin M. McCarty
Kevin M. McCarty
Office of Insurance Regulation
NAIC Past President

(Southeast Zone)

Office of Insurance Regulation
J. Edwin Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street, Room 101A
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0305
Phone: 850-413-5914
Fax: 850-488-3334

Kevin M. McCarty began his career in public service in 1988 becoming an expert in workers' compensation issues with the Department of Labor & Employment Security. His experience gained him a position with the Florida Department of Insurance in 1991. In 1992, McCarty became a point-man to implement strategies to improve the private marketplace following the devastation of Hurricane Andrew. The Governor and Florida Cabinet announced McCarty as the first appointed insurance commissioner in January 2003.

Throughout his career, McCarty has cited three main principles that have guided his vision of government's role in society: 1) government should serve and ultimately be accountable to the people; 2) government should be transparent in its operations, and treat its clients fairly and equitably; and 3) government should promote a vibrant, competitive marketplace while protecting those unable to protect themselves. McCarty has cemented his reputation as an innovator utilizing technology to improve the regulatory process, with the electronic rate and form filing and application processes, increasing speed to market for insurers and reducing administrative costs for insurers. He is a fierce defender of seniors and historically discriminated minorities and a national leader on national catastrophe strategy. He continues to focus on stabilizing the Florida property insurance market, reforming personal injury protection (PIP) law and protecting Florida's consumers. McCarty has played a key role over the years in promoting lower workers' compensation premiums, and continues to chair the state's cost containment board – the Workers' Compensation Three Member Panel.

McCarty's work within the NAIC ensures Florida consumers and insurers have a voice on national insurance issues. He is a past president of the NAIC. Florida participates on a number of committees, task forces and working groups. McCarty has previously chaired a number of substantive committees, including the International Insurance Relations (G) Committee, Financial Condition (E) Committee and the Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee, and has coordinated Florida's NAIC financial accreditation. Florida took the lead on organizing the U.S. regulation response to the International Monetary Fund's evaluation of the U.S. insurance sector. He has elevated Florida's international presence by serving as a U.S. representative on the International Association of Insurance Supervisors' (IAIS) Executive and Technical committees and the ComFrame Oversight Task Force, as well as the Joint Forum, a key group of leading international regulators from the insurance, banking and securities sectors. McCarty has been privileged to testify on several occasions before the U.S. Congress on a number of insurance-related matters.

McCarty and the Office received the 2010 Esprit de Corps Award for outstanding service to the NAIC. He was selected for the Spirit of Independence Award in 2011 from the National Association of Health Underwriters for his work to preserve the role of health insurance agents in light of federal health care reforms.

McCarty received his bachelor's degree and juris doctor from the University of Florida.


Florida CFO Jeff Atwater
Jeff Atwater
Chief Financial Officer
Department of Financial Services

Florida CFO
(Southeast Zone)

Department of Financial Services
J. Edwin Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0301
Phone: 850-413-3089
Fax: 850-413-2850

Jeff Atwater, a fifth-generation Floridian, was elected Florida’s Chief Financial Officer Nov. 2, 2010. Guided by his family’s time-honored tradition of serving the community, Atwater was inspired by his parents’ values instilling a hard work ethic, a commitment to family, and a deep sense of appreciation for service to community.

Atwater’s commitment to public service began in 1993 when he served as vice mayor of North Palm Beach. In 2000, he began his legislative service as a member of the Florida House of Representatives. Two years later, he was elected to the Florida Senate where he continued to serve the people of Broward and Palm Beach counties. After chairing high-profile Senate committees, Atwater gained the unanimous support of his fellow senators in becoming Senate president and led the Senate from 2008 through 2010.

As a community banker for more than 25 years, his background provides him with unique insights into banking, insurance, finance, fiscal responsibility and the burden that taxes and regulations place on small businesses and families.

Atwater earned a bachelor’s degree in finance and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Florida. Atwater has been an active member of the community, serving on several advisory boards, including United Way of Palm Beach County, Boy Scouts of America, Children’s Home Society of Broward County, and 5-Star Magnet Program of Palm Beach Gardens High School and Roger Dean Stadium. In addition, he served on the board of directors of the Northern Palm Beach County Chamber of Commerce.